White Buffalo District: Order of the Arrow

Becoming a member of the Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is Scouting’s National Honor Society.  OA candidates are selected by their troop members based on their willingness to live the Scout Oath and Law in their daily life and have shown that they are honored campers.  In order to become a candidate for the OA you have to be a First Class scout and have completed 15 days and nights of scout camping.  Not every young man has the opportunity to be elected by his troop and can become a candidate for the Order of the Arrow.  Only those young men who have lead by example and adhered to the high standards of Scouting will have this opportunity.  



The Order of the Arrow is Scouting’s national honor society.  Its purpose is to recognize those Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify Scouting’s values, to promote responsible outdoor adventure, develop young leaders, and crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.
Established in 1915, the OA emphasizes service to the unit.  In this way, Arrowmen give back to their troops and teams with the leadership skills and values of service learned through the Order.  The Order’s program compliments the troop’s or team’s, providing valuable leadership training programs, world-class high adventure opportunities, and exciting national conferences.
Members of the Order of the Arrow are chosen through an election process at atroop or team meeting.  To get an election scheduled for your troop or team, contact Hal Myers, Elections Lead Advisor at varsityrocks.hal@gmail.com or Mike Anderson, Chapter Advisor, at d14rtcom@gmail.com 



C: Craig Edwards, Field Director 

E: craiga.edwards@scouting.org

P: (385) 234-6509 


Hal Myers Council VS committee member, D14 OA Asst Advisor(801) 915-3232 

Mike Anderson D14 OA Advisor(801) 403-4574

Order of the Arrow Websites:

El-Ku-Ta Lodge web site

El-Ku-Ta Lodge Great Salt Lake Council web site

Official National Order of the Arrow Web Site

BSA information on Order of Arrow (Mission, Purpose, History, and Eligibility)

El-Ku-Ta Alumni web site


Ta Tanka Ska Chapter #14 Order of the Arrow Contacts: 

Chapter Chief: Miles Noble

Chapter Vice Chiefs: Jorell Croft, Tyler Fields

Chapter Adviser: Mike Anderson

Associate Chapter Advisor: Wayne Jacobson

Chapter Staff Advisor: Kevin Stuart


Chapter History

The Ta Tanka Ska Chapter was organized with the White Buffalo District on January 1, 1991 with Jeff Stanworth as the first Chapter Chief and Wayne Jacobson as the first Chapter Advisor.  Those concerned with the new Chapter at the time decided on the name “Ta Tanka Ska”, because it means ‘White Buffalo” in the Sioux language.  Over the years, many youth and adults have been elected to the Order of the Arrow from our Chapter.  Some of them had leadership responsibilities with great success.  Our Chapter achieved “Lodge Chapter of the Year” status in 1991 and 2015. 

In 2011, after a few years of inactivity, the Chapter was reorganized with John Anderson as Chapter Chief and Wayne Jacobson as Chapter Advisor.  Along with John came his brother, James, and Collin Cribbs as Vice Chiefs.  One of the first young men elected to the OA in January, 2011 was Caleb Noble, who became a Vice Chief.  Later Tyler Gates became our Treasurer.

The WHITE BUFFALO CHAPTER is one of several chapters in the El-Ku-Ta Lodge. The lodge encomasses the same area as the Great Salt Lake Council. The White Buffalo Chapter encompasses the same area as the White Buffalo District.


Chapter Information

The Ta Tanka Ska Chapter is one of 20 chapters in the El-Ku-Ta Lodge.  The Lodge encompasses the same area as the Great Salt Lake Council.  The Ta Tanka Ska Chapter encompasses the area covered by the White Buffalo District.  We meet monthly, except June and July, on the same nights and in same place as the White Buffalo District Roundtables at 7 pm.